I was lucky enough to spend a few extremely happy years of my childhood, living in a rather wonderful Scottish seaside town called Thurso. It was whilst living in Thurso that I got to try Scotch pancakes for the first time. And this was thanks to our neighbour, who we affectionately referred to as Auntie Jannetta, popping around to our house and standing at the stove with my mum as they rustled up a batch together.
My mum used to make raspberry buns a lot when I was younger and they were one of my brother’s favourite things to have for his supper. I do love making things that evoke happy memories of years gone by.
I’ve had a go at rustling up gluten free raspberry buns twice now and I’ve been delighted with how well they turned out. And of course any recipe success stories need to be shared with you too.
So often the recipes I share with you are not about originality but more about rustling up good old classics that I just fancy eating. But it’s funny, how sometimes you forget about things you’ve enjoyed in the past. Welsh rarebit is one of the many delicious things that had slipped my mind, until recently that is, when I delighted in it all over again and wondered why the heck, I’d left it out of my life for so long.
Updated 7th January 2021
After reading a blog post dated 8th December 2020 on Coeliac Uk’s website, I’ve updated the following post about the suitability of including malt vinegar within a gluten free diet.
There has always been a lot of confusion over whether or not it is safe to include malt vinegar within a gluten free diet. In the past, the general advice from Coeliac UK was; due to the fermentation process, the level of gluten in malt vinegar falls less than 20 parts per million, which is trace level and deemed safe for people who have coeliac disease.
However, Coeliac Uk have recently changed their advise regarding including malt vinegar and barley malt extract within a gluten free diet and now advise the following:
- We are no longer listing products containing barley malt extract or barley malt vinegar unless they are labelled gluten free.
- This is because barley malt extract and barley malt vinegar are made from gluten containing grains.
For the full update from Coeliac UK regarding barley malt vinegar and barley malt extract please click here.
I feel this new guidance from Coeliac Uk is a good move. And brings with it much needed clarity about the whole malt vinegar/malt extract subject.
For quite a while now I have only purchased dedicated gluten free cereals and also, about a year ago, switched the vinegar we use at home to white wine vinegar instead of malt vinegar. It just settled my mind.
Hope you found the information within this article helpful.