Updated 7th January 2021
After reading a blog post dated 8th December 2020 on Coeliac Uk’s website, I’ve updated the following post about the suitability of including malt vinegar within a gluten free diet.
There has always been a lot of confusion over whether or not it is safe to include malt vinegar within a gluten free diet. In the past, the general advice from Coeliac UK, was due to the fermentation process the level of gluten within malt vinegar was less than 20 parts per million . Which is a trace level that is deemed safe for people who have coeliac disease.
However Coeliac Uk have recently changed their advise regarding including malt vinegar and barley malt extract within a gluten free diet and now advise the following:
- We are no longer listing products containing barley malt extract or barley malt vinegar unless they are labelled gluten free.
- This is because barley malt extract and barley malt vinegar are made from gluten containing grains.
For the full update from Coeliac UK regarding barley malt vinegar and barley malt extract please click here.
I feel this new guidance from Coeliac Uk is a good move. And brings with it much needed clarity about the whole malt vinegar/malt extract subject.
For quite a while now I have only purchased dedicated gluten free cereals and also, about a year ago, switched the vinegar we use at home to white wine vinegar instead of malt vinegar. It just settled my mind.
Hope you found the information within this article helpful.